Animal Welfare and Disease Control

The goal of this section is to conduct research related to veterinary science within the fields of bioethics, animal behaviour and epidemiology. The research focuses on identifying and describing patterns, associations and relationships, and using this knowledge to improve animal welfare, sustainability and profitability within animal production.

The subjects of animal welfare, prudent use of antibiotics, sustainable production systems and profitability for farmers are the core of the research in this group. This creates value for society in general because it develops and evaluates novel ways of optimizing animal welfare and profitability at both the farm and national level, including prioritising the prudent use of antibiotics. 

Studies in animal behaviour and bioethics provide a foundation of basic knowledge, to create a better understanding of the interaction between people and animals. 

Studies of disease spread and the effectiveness of control measures help farmers, vets and other people in the field to reduce spread of diseases. Moreover, all of the mentioned disciplines are combined in the One Health approach, improving the sustainability of co-existence for humans and animals at the same time. 

Quote from head of section Hans Houe:

”We utilize knowledge from all biological and societal levels in an interdiciplinary and integrative approach. This way we address important research questions that simultaneously have relevance for many stakeholders.”








Head of unit: Professor Hans Houe

Senior VIP in unit (professors, associate professors – other than head of group):

  • Professor Björn Forkman
  • Professor Liza Rosenbaum Nielsen
  • Professor Søren Saxmose Nielsen
  • Associate Professor Matthew Denwood
  • Professor Peter Sandøe (50% at IVH)
  • Associate Professor Jens Frederik Gramstrup Agger
  • Associate Professor Helle Lottrup Halkjær Rhode
  • Associate Professor Nina Dam Otten
  • Associate Professor Nathalia Sofie Brichet
  • Senior Researcher Carsten Thure Kirkeby
  • Senior Researcher René Bødker
  • Senior Advisor Anette Boklund
  • Senior Executive Consultant Stine B. Christiansen 

Junior VIP in unit:

  • Assistant Professor Maya Katrin Gussmann
  • Assistant Professor Lene Jung Kjær
  • Assistant Professor Jacob Stærk-Østergaard

 Post doc fellows in unit:

  • Line Svennesen
  • Alice Puk Skarbye
  • Roi Mandel Briefer

PhD students in unit:

  • Ida Sofie Thuesen
  • Cecilie Ravn Skovlund
  • Jeanette Kristensen
  • Maj Beldring Henningsen
  • Jonno Jorn Stelder
  • Mossa Merhi Reimert
  • Kari Bækgaard Eriksson
  • Yangfan Liu
  • Michael Farre (Industry PhD in SEGES) 
  • Susanne Leth Musse (Industry PhD at Merck)
  • Lars Pedersen (Industry PhD in SEGES)

Other VIPs in unit:

  • Academic Employee Anne Marie Michelsen
  • Research Assistant Erika Thorhauge-Thejll
  • Secretary Jeanne T. Oakman
  • Attendant Dennis Schultz Jensen