28. september 2023

Andrew Williams to receive the Peter Nansen Award 2023


As the first young scientist representing Denmark Andrew R. Williams was awarded the 2023 WAAVP Peter Nansen Young Scientist Award for outstanding scientific accomplishments during the WAAVP 29th International Conference in Chennai, India, August 2023.

waavp logoAndrew R. Williams awardeeAndrew R. Williams (40 years) is an excellent representative of the community of veterinary parasitologists. In recent years he has established his own research field at University of Copenhagen, focusing on complex interactions between gut parasites, diet, microbiota, and the immune system with the aim of identifying new interventions to control infections and improve gut health. He applies a strong interdisciplinary approach with extensive national and international collaboration and has attracted several young talents to his research group.

Born in Australia, Andrew holds a PhD degree (2010) from University of Western Australia. After a Post Doc position at Oxford University, he joined University of Copenhagen (2012) where he became Associate Professor in Parasitology with Department of Veterinary and Animal Sciences (2017).

Andrew has obtained a substantial amount of research funding and received several prestigious awards. He is currently a member of editorial boards of highly cited journals in parasitology and immunology, e.g., Parasite Immunology, Frontiers in Immunology, BMC Veterinary Research, Scientific Reports. He has published 97 papers in highly cited journals and has an H-index of 32.

The WAAVP award is given to promising young professionals for innovative and outstanding research and is presented at the WAAVP conference biennially.

The award includes a cash award and covers the costs associated with participation in the conference.

Professor Peter NansenThe award was established in 2000 under the auspices of WAAVP to honour and perpetuate the memory of Professor Peter Nansen, Copenhagen, for his outstanding contributions to Veterinary Parasitology and his great concern for and the encouragement of young, promising scientists in this field.

The Award Management Committee would like to express its gratitude and thanks to all private and corporate sponsors, who have generously donated funds towards this award.